R.A. Horn and Franklin B. Walter Award Winners

Congratulations to Cole Pastorius of Cuyahoga Falls for being awaded the R. A. Horn Outstanding Student Award.  The R. A. Horn Award is presented to one exemplary special education student from each of Ohio’s sixteen State Support Team regions.  This award was established thirty-one years ago by the Ohio Department of Education in honor of the late Dr. Raymond A. Horn; Assistant Superintendent of Public Instruction Emeritus, this prestigious award recognizes students’ remarkable performance.  Acknowledged as a national leader in the field of special education, Dr. Horn devoted more than 60 years of service to improving the quality of life and learning for students with disabilities.  Dr. Horn left behind a legacy and a challenge to all of us to ensure that every student with a disability be given the respect and the opportunities to which they are entitled.

Congratulations to the inclusion team from Greenwood Early Learning Center for being awarded the Franklin B. Walter Outstanding Educator Award.  The Greenwood Kindergarten Inclusion Team includes Mrs. Kristi Harrelson, Mrs. Jenelle Dolph, Mrs. Amy Cambier, Mrs. Becky Bockstoce, Mrs. Tricia Talbott, Mr. Scott Shank, and Mrs. Joya Mitchell.  The Franklin B Walter Award is given to an educator or educator team from each of the 16 State Support Teams in Ohio who have made extraordinary contributions to the education of students with disabilities. This award is given in honor of the late Franklin B Walter, Superintendent of Public Instruction from 1977 until 1991, a post held longer than any other state superintendent in Ohio’s history.  With over 50 years of service as a teacher and administrator, Dr. Walter’s leadership is evident in many of Ohio’s quality educational initiatives and programs.  Among these is the development of the nation’s first statewide plan for children with disabilities.  This is the 29th year that this award has been given.
The Horn Walter Burley 2019 Awards banquet was hosted June 11 at the Villa Milano Banquet & Conference Center. The banquet was sponsored by Buckeye Association of School Administrators, Ohio Association of County Boards of Developmental Disabilities, Ohio Coalition for the Education of Children with Disabilities, Ohio Educational Service Center Association, and Ohio School Boards Association.

Print This Article
View text-based website